IGNORED

Sonos/Benchmark DAC sound quality

Hello all,

I use a Sonos system serving music ripped in the Apple lossless format using an optical link to a Benchmark DAC. When I compare the quality of music from this setup to a CD playing on an old Rotel DVD player (through an Arcam integrated amp in both cases), the Rotel sounds better. The difference can be made out in the low end - the bass appears cleaner/tighter with the Rotel. Any thoughts on how I could improve the quality through the Sonos/Benchmark? Is it the Sonos electronics or the Apple lossless compression format? Any pointers would really help.

Thanks.

Arvind

Hey…

Well I’m guessing that you are going to be get a lot of varying answers to this question, but I have a Sonos system as well as a PC and have been involved with computer based playback for a while now – I also have done nothing short of un-ending research online, so while I wouldn’t say I am an expert, I feel like I have a good handle on the various theories. I have a what I consider a very resolving system with good gear – Bryston SP2, Bryston 9BSST, Focal 1027Be speakers, REL subwoofer.

When Stereophile reviewed the Sonos system, they confirmed bit-perfect digital output assuming you have the volume set to FIXED in the software settings. This will disable the ability to use the volume on the Sonos remote, but if you don’t do this then the software is playing with the output and can clearly cause sound quality issues. I would check this first.

Second, I would suggest using the coax output rather than the optical. Not everyone believes bits-are-bits, but jitter can certainly have audible effects on sound quality – depending on who you ask this is either a major or a minor problem. Although a small minority claims to get better results with optical, it is fairly accepted that coax is the better connection and will result in less jitter.