IGNORED

Has any one ever proven that asynchronous USB DAC is better than Adaptive USB technology

Hi, I'm new to Computer audiophile and recently posted re my great (at least to me) experience is using a Dacport as part of my home system. The Dacport, was, at least to my ears, as good as a quality async DAC I also had. Someone in the forum pointed out that Dacport (and Centrance's other product) Dac Mini use Adaptive USB technology. My question is: why can't the Adaptive USB technology, if properly done, control jitter between the PC and the DAC to the point where there's no difference sonically to the human ear than async. Not from an anecdotal pov, but are there any blinded studies that show a statistically proven difference? If so, I'd love it if someone could provide such a link. Thanks.

MG555

There are many reasons DAC's sound different and jitter is just one. Async solves some of these issues - but not all. The Tranquility DAC for example deliberately eschews async because they believe what they chose sounds better (and no I don't know what that is). Listening tests I have done against an async dac shows whatever that is sounded better than async. The two best USB DAC's I have ever heard do not use async. One is the Tranquility - the other is the PDX. Via USB there is hardly anything between them to my ears - well maybe the PDX is a smidgen better. However here is the kicker. The Tranquility is a USB only DAC but the PDX is USB and SPDIF. With a heavily tweaked Marantz as transport the PDX easily won. And that is not even close to an I2S transport that has been tried - evidently that is jaw dropping - but I have not heard it myself. I believe there is a lot more to be discovered about what actually affects sound quality in a DAC.