IGNORED

What's the easiest way to strip down a Mac MIni and OS Snow Leopard to be just a music server?

Hi, just wondering if anybody has a list or a link to alist of what to take off the MAC OS and Mac Mini (re hardware drivers I don't need etc.) so I can just use the Mac Mini for running Itunes plus Pure Music or Amarra and nothing else. I'll be running an SSD drive and will either put music there as well, or connect for music storage via Firewire to large HD, or via CAT 6 to server HD on fast router. I'm new to Macs (just got the first one - a Mac Mini). Thanks for the help.

MG555

cf: http://www.computeraudiophile.com/content/MAC-MINI-Operating-System-Optimisation has some suggestions.

I wrote a shell script to do some of these which is posted in that thread i think.

There is also a company that you can pay to do it for you.

OS X 10.6 however really doesn't need to be optimized. Turning off spotlight and hourly time machine backups might help, but in general the sytem is already optimal.

I personally would advise against disabling filesystem journaling.

Here's a few 'optimisations' I employ:

1. Clean install with the base OS only.

2. Apply the latest combi OS upgrade (10.6.6 at time of writing - around 1GB download).

3. Turn off spotlight - easiest way is to go into System Preference > Spotlight. Deselect all categories in the 'Search Results' pane. In the 'Privacy' pane, drag the start-up disc and any attached discs.

4. Turn off Energy Saving measures - System Preferences > Energy Saver. Drag all options to 'Never'. Untick the 'Put the hard disk(s) to sleep when possible'.

5. If you do not use Bluetooth devices - System Preferences > Bluetooth. Untick the 'On' box.

6. Turn Time Machine off. System Preferences > Time Machine.

7. Disable Automatic Software Updates. System Preferences > Software Update.

Deselect the 'Check for Updates:' option.