IGNORED

J River Bells and Whistles but no reliability

indigo

I'm writing this as J River which I believe is one of the better Media "Audiophile" players is in my opinion still in Beta! I laugh when it asks would I like to purchase it on the splash screen. WTF? I've been a software developer for 15 years and always have got the foundations right before adding the "un-necessary" features, J River on the other hand think they've got one feature working and move onto the next - so wrong! I really had hoped this product would work but after searching the forums to determine whether I was doing something wrong it appears it's just common buggy software that's untested. How do software companies hope to make a living while producing software that isn't tested? I've spent so many hours trying to get J River working with Twonky on my NAS, it's not even funny anymore. If any J River developers read this then I hope you sort your game out as it is seriously bad. If there's an error, tell the user why? not just that there was a problem??? some info please? I get it working, reboot and I'm back at square ONE! why??? you expect me to buy this? Please sort it out, despite the RANT and think you potentially have a very good product in the pipeline, just please finish it before release it (that includes unit testing, integration testing etc...)

DLNA is a sloppy standard. DLNA devices do not all work the same way and a vendor has to learn the quirks of each device they have to interact with.

There are posts on the J. river forum about problems when J. River MC 15 is using Twonky as a server. Go to other forums and you'll see users reporting problems using other DLNA control points and renderers with Twonky. So is the problem entirely with JRMC or is part of the problem the way Twonky works?

Right now, DLNA functionality is a work in progress for JRMC and other vendors. J. River has been working to characterize problems with different devices and device solutions.