IGNORED

MAC Playback software - Why?

Alan Brown

Hi Chaps - 1st post here, but what a great resource this place has been over the last week or so. I am partway through setting up my first computer audio system, and will doubtless have more questions later on. I was computer-illiterate a couple of years ago, having a fairly good set of basic skills now - however I am a MAC noob, and am slowly playing around with my (2009) MACMini to familiarize myself.

As the setup isn't really ready yet (no NAS drive yet - I will follow the CA ripping methodology) I have only had an idle play; using the (unsatisfactory) minitoslink via an adapter into my old Theta DAC. It is not yet superior to CD replay, though I am borrowing a HiFace shortly on long term loan so as to use my favorate coax cable. I plan on auditioning the Westlake - designed Audiolab DAC at the turn of the year. I ripped to AIFF using dBpowerAMP to a shared file on my old lappy, then I copied the file to the Mini (It was Lyle Lovett's 'Joshua Judges Ruth' on RBCD).

My Question: What would something like the Amarra mini or Pure Music players add to the setup (or remove?) - isn't iTunes up to scratch? I have a good friend, a former HiFi magazine reviewer who uses iTunes with no additions quite happily, even controlling the volume this way.

I appreciate that trying these options out is the best way to go, and likely I will. As a newcomer to all things MAC however, I don't fancy spending my first few months solely struggling to set up & configure software...I'm sure you can see my point.

My setup: MACMini (2.26ghz, 2GB, 160GB), Theta DS Pro Basic III, NVA P90 passive pre-amp, NVA TSS Power amplifier, Royd RR3 Speakers - NVA cabling throughout.

MAC controlled with Blutooth keyboard & mouse, will look at Apple remote, using TV as monitor.

QNAP > MACMini 2015 > Audirvana+ > M2Tech Young DAC > Magnum MP250 Class A pre > Wonfor designed Single Ended Class A Monos > modified Triangle Antal ESW (Tellurium Q Black).