IGNORED

Will this idea work?

dongna

Hello, newbie here... love this forum.

After spending many weeks browsing this and other similar forums looking for possible solutions to getting audio from my PC to my home audio system, I have come up with the following idea:

I would like to have the audio files stored on my main PC which will be located in a home office. My audio system is located in the living room. I currently have a wired-only router with DSL internet. I would like to avoid wireless as I don't have a wireless network presently and I like the security and dependability of wired-- but I also like the possibility of having a wireless remote to control things.

So my (perhaps half-baked) plan is to use iTunes on the PC playing Apple lossless format. Purchase an Apple Airport Express which I will locate near the home audio system and connect via ethernet cable to my router (running cable through the crawlspace is no problem). Purchase an iPod Touch to provide remote control operation of iTunes. I will try connecting the Airport Express to my amp via the mini-jack at first, but would also like to have the option to use an extenal DAC via the USB port on the AE in the future.

Is all this going to work, or have I missed some critical detail that would prevent it from working?

And a question: is an 8 GB iPod Touch adequate to run the iTunes remote software?

1. Yes, any iPod Touch or iPhone (including the 8GB model you refer to) will run Apple's Remote app which will give you a remote control of iTunes.

2. Yes, connecting the Airport Express to the router via ethernet will give you the wireless access you need for the iTouch remote to work. However you should be prepared for some minor fiddling with setup options to get it all to play nice together.