IGNORED

CD Player

In spite of using the Mac for music I still like to have a CD player around for periodic fiddling. Right now I'm using an old Yamaha DVD player as I removed the Sonys I once used.

Does anyone have an opinion or experience with these Oppo units as a CD player? I've heard pretty good things about them.

http://www.oppodigital.com/default.asp

Not real clear what this means - "The DV-983H is the new flagship model designed for serious home theater ... and utilizes more high-end audio circuitry components than the other two models."

Looks like the 980 and 983 have USB.

Thanks,

IT

I have no direct experience with them, but I am very skeptical. Many forums are filled with posts of people talking these things up like there is no tomorrow. They are very cheap as well. So, lots of hype and a cheap price. If history is the best predictor of the future, I'd say these units aren't as good as they say and they won't be around very long.

However, I must reiterate that I have no direct experience with them. I'm just going by one of the gut feelings. These things may be absolutely awesome. I hope someone can chime in here with direct experience.

Founder of Audiophile Style | My Audio Systems AudiophileStyleStickerWhite2.0.png AudiophileStyleStickerWhite7.1.4.png

The Oppos are generally very well regarded. For what it's worth, Cambridge Audio takes the Oppo innards, spices them up a bit and puts them into their own cases. Cambridge Audio is well known for reasonably high-quality audio equipment, so the Oppos can't be that bad. As usual, it all depends on the rest of your system. If you have a system that can reveal the shortcomings of the Oppos (whatever they might be) than they might not be good enough for you. If you don't, then you'll be happy with them. There is only one way to find out.

Best - MM