IGNORED

Charles Lloyd Water is Wide ECM question

Hello,

I've found this album really amazing, but talking about sonic quality, I can hear time to time distortions especially in higher registers and clippings. Have you guys noticed ir as well over the time listening to this CD. I can easily see clippings on some songs in Audacity, which shouldn't be a case foe ECM recordings right?

--

Krzysztof Maj

http://mkrzych.wordpress.com/

"Music is the highest form of art. It is also the most noble. It is human emotion, captured, crystallised, encased… and then passed on to others." - By Ken Ishiwata

Yes- I find this true of many of the EMC CD's I own & love. A bit of haze, compression and maybe phase(IE) stuff in the mix. I put up w/ it because I enjoy the music but discovered that my digital cables ) transport to DAC) and make it better or worse. Audience AU24 SE new cable is very very good.

I agree, it's a fantastic album musically. I have been listening to Charles Lloyd since the 1960s & am happy to see his comeback has been so successful.

As to SQ, I haven't looked at the waveforms nor analyzed the sound on this one carefully, but in general ECM releases sound very good, but not great nor particularly natural, to me.

In general, Canto for instance is very good, but I like Water is Wide more, but when listening over the cans it's easy to find those mastering mistakes and it's disturbing.
I rarely use cans, because I haven't found a pair comfortable to me. You've given me another reason not to look for them! ;-)
In general, Canto for instance is very good, but I like Water is Wide more, but when listening over the cans it's easy to find those mastering mistakes and it's disturbing.

Can you provide a specific time track/time where one of these mastering "mistakes" occurs and is easily audible?

OK, so lets listen to to that parts pf the first song: 0:15, 3:22, 3:43, 4:12. Distortion I hear are for the piano track. Do you hear the same?