IGNORED

noob here, trying to find the light....

Hambone

Help the silly newbie, please.

I am a music lover that has everything from SACDs to HQ vinyl to MFSL CDs in my collection. However, space recently became a concern for me (i.e., my wife told me to get rid of a bunch of stuff).

So over the past year or so, I have steadily converting my physical music collection to digital. I already have my trusty, beaten-up headphones so I'm set there. Now I've been doing (or trying to do) some research, but I am still mostly in the dark when it comes to getting the most out of my computer, audio-wise. I thought my regular home audio guy was bad about being intentionally vague (which I guess I understand because at the end of the day, audio preferences are all subjective anyway and he just wants to make a sale), but some of the people I've spoken to about high-end computer audio can't give me a straight answer on anything!

I have a early 2009 Mac. Now, some have told me that I should get a headphone amp in conjunction with at least a 24/96 DAC (one friend, whose opinion I value, suggested the NuForce uDac-2 as a starting point because of the low price). Another guy told me that DACs are only really useful for comps with lower-quality soundcards, and the Mac should be fine as it is. Yet another guy told me that while the Mac does have a decent-quality soundcard, it only puts out max quality of 24/44.1 (have no idea if that's actually the case or not).

The headphone amp doesn't really worry me; my cans are low-impedance at only 32 ohms, and the Mac headphone output is 24 ohms, so it's not a huge deal. My biggest concern is that I have many SACD rips (@ 24/88.2 and 24/176) and vinyl rips (some @ 24/96, some @ 24/192).