IGNORED

How to setup for an Esoteric K03XD

pietpara

Hello,

Sorry, I am new in this HQP stuff so I 'm looking for some guidance on how to set it up. Maybe the first question is even, do I need HQP for what I want to do?

I looked at the HQP site and tutorial and browsed a lot of forum material, but I cannot really get a clear picture of how to set it up.

I hope that someone here could confirm or guide me in what I am going to describe below.

So, my premise is that I would like to use the DAC in the Esoteric K03XD to stream DSD files to it, which I have on a network drive.

My first finding is that I'd need to use the USB input of the Esoteric. Other inputs like AES-XLR or SPDIF or TOSlink will not be able to provide the DSD speed above DSD64 (via DoP?).

So, that means I need to, somehow, feed the Esoteric with music via a USB cable. My current streamer, a Grimm-audio MU1, does not have a USB output, but it does have a Roon core inside. I guess then that it's also a Roon endpoint.

Since I need USB output, I thought I should probably get a cheap Intel NUC i5, put HQplayer on there and connect the Esoteric to the NUC via the USB cable.

But when I read the HQplayer site and threads about it, I hear everyone talk about an NAA. I've never heard about those and I have not yet understood what that device is or does.

Could someone help me understand what this NAA is and if I really need it?

Also, having Roon on the Grimm MU1, I guess I could set HQplayer up on it to recognize the HQplayer server which I would have on the NUC and then still use Roon to control HQplayer, right?

In the end, I also have Soulution 330 integrated amp with DAC inside, and I'd like to try feeding that DAC with same USB as well for comparison via the same setup scheme. I guess that would be possible, or is HQplayer not compatible with justany DAC?

Your help would be much appreciated.

Thanks and cheers