IGNORED

ITunes transfer questions

2stepsam

Question

Noob here, this may have been asked plenty but I’d appreciate any suggestions you folks might offer.

i have a medium sized music library on iTunes in a Mac mini.  The mini is incredibly slow and I don’t use it anymore having opted for a pc laptop for working from home.  I tried transferring my music library to iTunes on my pc but it didn’t go well, maybe 20 albums transferred.  Any suggestions for freeing my library from iTunes jail?

Secondly, would I be better off with a NAS than a computer for music storage and accessibility?

thanks for any help you can offer.

4 answers to this question

Just use the MacMini as a music server. You can also use it "headless" (no screen) and use the PC as a manager by remote access with the Mini directly connected to the stereo.

Music servers don't need to be fast. Serving music is not a hard task.

I've got 3000+ albums on a Mini and it works fine.

11 hours ago, 2stepsam said:

Thanks Greg 

So I’m thinking of running a USB cable to my Oppo  105 Then connecting to the preamp. Does that sound like a good solution?

"sound like a good solution"?😆😆

Yes, that should work well.

The only true measure is if it sounds good to you.🙂

ps--keep at least two backups of the music if you haven't already. Electronic storage fails eventually.

I maintain a 23,000 song iTunes library on a few PCs.  I have moved my music library from one PC to another. I did it by copying the standard iTunes Media folder containing the songs on the old PC to an external USB drive; connected drive to new PC; opened iTunes on new PC and selected File, Add Folder to the Library and pointed to the iTunes Media folder on the drive.  It took a while but completed okay.

It’s curious that only some of your albums imported into your PC's iTunes and that might be a clue.  Two possible culprits come to mind:  music formats and consolidation.

Music Formats