IGNORED

Some newbie questions

Hi. I am a total newbie in terms of networked audio, but an old audiophile. Please help. :)

I am in the process of setting up a second listening station, and I've already got a great DAC and a great headphone amp. I have a new Mac Mini in the same room, but I know that if I just run music from the Mac to the DAC, sound won't be great. I'm looking at something like the SOtM sMS-200 or the MicroRendu to feed the DAC. I even have an excellent linear power supply to use. However, I don't really understand how networked things need to be in order to run these devices. 

To be clear, I don't need any streaming services at all. I have all the music I listen to on a hard drive. I know that I can connect a hard drive to these devices via USB, but they still need to be part of a network in some way for control. Can I do that by just hooking  them up to my Mac with an Ethernet cable? The Mac is connected to the Internet via Wifi. 

I think all I need to do is get the SOtM sMS-200 or the MicroRendu set up, then I can control it with my iPhone. I just am totally unclear about how to achieve this state. Apparently they need a "server" of some sort, but why? You can connect USB hard drives to them with music, right? I'm under the impression that I can't just connect the thing to my Mac over Ethernet because it's not a server, but I don't understand exactly what functionality is missing. 

Basically, I just want to turn the SOtM sMS-200 or the MicroRendu into a dumb, totally non-networked music source for my DAC, but I get the feeling this won't work without me setting up an entire weird music network in my house that I have no desire for. Should I just give up and get a USB regenerator to connect the Mac to the DAC, which will be simpler but probably not as good sound? 

Thanks a lot.