IGNORED

Problem in Setting up Weiss DAC2 under VMware

Dear all,

I just bought a 13.3" MacBook Pro to work with my Weiss DAC2. At the Apple OS Front (iTune + Pure Music Player), it works fine.

I then proceed to install VMWare Fusion and Windows 7 on the MacBook Pro with a veiw to using foobar. However, I have troubles in changing the sound device in the control panel of Windows 7. Despite repeated attempts, I simply cannot find the Firewire device in the control panel. I can only see the VMWare device in the control pannel. I got the message that I cannot change the sound device under VMWare.

Has anyone experienced this kind of problem before? Is that something to do with the VMWare? Should I change to Bootcamp instead?

Thanks in advance...

First of all, thanks very much for your prompt reply. I am very new to the Mac world so I do not really know the difference between VMware, Parallel and Bootcamp. Now that with your advice, I will definitely not use VMware or Parallel to activate Windows 7 within the Mac Operationg System.

Personally, I find the iTune + Pure Music proposal very easy to use. My only complaint is that this combination may sound a hint too clinical. Being "greedy", I would also like to try out the Foobar + WASAPI combination so that I have a "dual playing system". That is precisely the reason why I bought a MacBook Pro instead of just a Windows-based laptop.

A couple of elementary questions on setting up under Mac operating system:-

1. Can VMware co-exist with Bootcamp?

2. If the answer to Question 1 above is "yes", do I have to install Windows 7 again when I install Bootcamp (so that there are two sets of Windows 7)?

3. If the answer to Question 1 above is "no", do I have to remove VMware and Windows 7 (together with the already installed Foobar) before installing Bootcamp?

Many thanks for your advice in advance!!!

Dear MacBook Users,