IGNORED

Newbie and confused about using PC as music server

Hi everyone

I am a newbie to music servers and not very techno-savvy when it comes to computers. On the other hand, I have a reasonable good hifi system and want to maximize sound quality while keeping it convenient.

I am currently using iTunes running on a PC with Windows XP, use USB 2.0 output into a Trend UD10 SPDIF converter into a Monarchy Audio DIP upsampler 48/96 into a Monarchy Audio M24 DAC..and into my preamp...a long chain.

On the media player side, I need to keep iTunes for my kids' music as they have lots of iTunes stores downloads. For me, I like the iTunes GUI but could use any other player if the GUI is relatively friendly.

I would like to make sure that the sound quality is not degraded (I ripped all my CDs in 1411 WAV) and based on my readings, it seems that my set up may be prone to 3 problems (at least):

- use of iTunes (instead of a better player)

- unnecessary USB to SPDIF conversion (compared to using an Airport Express or a Mac Mini and use optical out into my DIP)

- use of Windows XP and the Kmixer negative impact on sound instead of Mac OSX

What would you recommend I do among the following options:

a) change nothing in my system but use a different media player than iTunes (free)

b) keep using iTunes but add an Airport Express to us optical out ($100)

c) keep using iTunes and buy a Mac Mini and use optical out ($600)

I have read about ASIO drivers, unmapping audio devices, etc etc but in the end, that appears quite complicated to me and I am not even sure that by doing all this on my PC-XP and long chain of cables-converters-upsamplers, I am not just making things too complex!

Also, is there any basic computer set-up tricks that I could sue to maximize the use of a PC as a music server?

Thanks for your help.

I agree with Mr. C. on all counts. In spite of myself, I'll throw out a bit of education/opinion anyway: