IGNORED

Audio out through USB in Ubuntu - how does it work?

Hi, I'm new to this great site - wish I'd found it a few weeks ago, before I started building my Linux music server! Looking at the spec for Chris' CAPS, I think I've made some good choices.

I also went for the Intel D945GSEJT motherboard, which I put in a fanless Mini-box M350 case (not too pretty!), with a regular hard drive - SSD too expensive for me at the moment. The operating system is a minimal Ubuntu 9.10 server build, to which I've added alsa and MPD for playback (which is being controlled by the Theremin client on my Macbook). Music has been ripped from my CDs by abcde, as FLACs.

It's early days for this system; and I don't know too much about audio with Linux yet. I'm currently just using the built-in stereo jack socket on the motherboard into my amp, though it was sort of trial-and-error with alsamixer etc; I don't really understand what's going on to be honest. But, it is working. Obviously I could get better sound (hopefully!) using an external DAC, which I'm considering, and this is where my questions start - sorry for the long preamble!

1) What do I need to do to get the digital audio out from the system to the USB sockets, and then to a USB DAC? Is audio just automatically "present" via USB? Or, what needs to happen to make it so? Configuration of linux, MPD, alsa... ?

2) The mobo has an S/PDIF header on it, but there is no cable or socket. Are there "standard" cables that just plug into the header, at the other end of which is a digital socket that can then go into a DAC? Would there be any difference between S/PDIF and USB in such a system?

I'll be grateful for any help. It's all very exciting, and I'm really glad to have found this site - it's a great resource, thanks!

Hi norfolknog