IGNORED

Lacie Big Disk failure - i have a very expensive brick sitting on my desk and don't know what to do with it...

Hi - long story short is i have a 1TB Lacie hard disk that has failed and is not covered by warranty (even longer story!) Basically after months of discussion and sending back and forth to Lacie they tell me the internal computer has failed. I now have several hundred dollars worth of brick sitting on my desk!. Thing is its got two good disks inside it (2 x 500GB) that I could use in something else. I'm a bit of a noob at all this and was wondering if someone could advise me? I originally bought the Lacie to stream my video/sound files to a PS3 from my computer (mac G5 intel) via a mac Airport Extreme Base Station. Can I put the drives in another enclosure? Will they go in my mac? I've got a Lacie firewire drive sitting on my desk that hasn't given an ounce of trouble in over 3 years. Any advice on what to do is greatly appreciated...

First: I am pretty sure that there is a way to salvage your data, IF that is what you want to do. It might cost you $$ though. Think of it like this: if a government agency wanted to get some 'secret-to-you' data off of those hard drives, they absolutely would be able to. I just recently read that they have recovered data from a hard drive from the Challenger Space Shuttle that was found in (I believe) a river in Texas. LaCie probably even offered to fix your unit, I'm guessing.

But you don't mention wanting to recover data. You mention wanting to remedy the 'brick' situation that you have now by using the hard drives that make up most of that 'brick'. Yep. I'm pretty sure that you can save and reuse those drives in a number of ways. I am not familiar with what type of HDDs that LaCie uses inside their assemblies - they could be PATA, SATA or another type - most likely SATA if it is a newer unit.