IGNORED

Which computer for music server

I am a new member here and have two very different computers I own for which I could use as my music server. I've always used a 2007 MBP and replaced its internal drive with SSD and use Audirvana. I also have a new PC tower with windows 7 and would use Foobar with WASAPI and Fidelix, maybe JRMC in the future. For either machine, I have an external 1 TB ,HDD for storage.

Are there any solid reasons why I should consider using the newer PC or should I stick with the older MBP ? I ask because I'm fairly new to dealing with windows regarding squeezing out the best for music. Reformatting my external drive will also be a pain.

My audio gear: Schiit Bifrost Multibit/Ragnarok -> HD600/KEF LS50

You should be fine with your MBP if you stay with music up to 24/192 format. The only reason you would probably consider upgrading would be to use the new DSD formats or the high processor hungry software for up-sampling. If you don't care for it you will be just fine right where you are.

Custom Win10 Server | Mutec MC-3+ USB | Lampizator Amber | Job INT | ATC SCM20PSL + JL Audio E-Sub e110

I am a new member here and have two very different computers I own for which I could use as my music server. I've always used a 2007 MBP and replaced its internal drive with SSD and use Audirvana. I also have a new PC tower with windows 7 and would use Foobar with WASAPI and Fidelix, maybe JRMC in the future. For either machine, I have an external 1 TB ,HDD for storage.

Are there any solid reasons why I should consider using the newer PC or should I stick with the older MBP ? I ask because I'm fairly new to dealing with windows regarding squeezing out the best for music. Reformatting my external drive will also be a pain.

My audio gear: Schiit Bifrost Multibit/Ragnarok -> HD600/KEF LS50