IGNORED

Is this clipping?

I bought a 24/96 track from a well known site & played it but found it's distorted. As this is a new DAC I wasn't sure whether it was the track or the DAC. I didn't download the other tracks from the album just this one. No other high res tracks (24/96, 24/88.2, 24/192) from other sites are distorted.

I'm new to audio analysis but I downloaded Audacity & ran an analysis - the clipping tool doesn't find clipping but the plot looks like it's clipped (or close to it) - graph below.

I ran Spectrum plot - it will only do 10 secs but it shows frequencies below 200Hz are above 0db (graph below) - is this not clipping?

Either Audacity makes a mess of things, or this is a "manipulated" file.

Disclaimer : it is hard too see without being able to zoom.

But look at the start area of the left (top) channel. That easily shows (?) that it clips at the positive side (top), but not at the negative (bottom).

In fact this is throughout, while the right channel at least doesn't clip so much. When you zoom it yourself I think chances are fair the right channel doesn't clip at all. The left channel may show clipping on the negative side too, but I am not sure.

Sure is : this is not right, unless Audacity doesn't show it correctly.

The other plot doesn't tell me much, other than it won't be possible to show above 0dB, but which it does. If you grabbed it from analogue it of course can.

Peter

Lush^3-e      Lush^2      Blaxius^2.5      Ethernet^3     HDMI^2     XLR^2

XXHighEnd (developer)

Phasure NOS1 24/768 Async USB DAC (manufacturer)

Phasure Mach III Audio PC with Linear PSU (manufacturer)

Orelino & Orelo MKII Speakers (designer/supplier)