IGNORED

Just starting out

Thanks to everyone for helping me to understand the equipment issues with music servers. I have learned a lot just from reading all the information here. I am just beginning and have purchased a new laptop for my college-bound son. I now have his old Apple, handed down from my oldest son. This is the unit: 1.33 GHz Powerbook G4, 256 MB memory (lower), 512 L2 Cache, 120 G hard drive capacity. I will be using only external storage and backup. OS is 10.4.11. I don't speak Apple since I have only used PCs. My questions:

1. Should I upgrade to Leopard or Snow Leopard?

2. Is there a better way to stream digital data from the laptop than the USB. I believe it has one slot on the left side. Lynx? I don't know the USB version, 1.1 or 2.0?

3. Would adding memory improve the sound?

4. It has firewire but my PS Audio Digital Link 3 doesn't have firewire. It does have optical but I don't see an optical output on the laptop.

5. With this setup will it matter which format I rip in? If this laptop craps out, which it will, the music will be on the external discs so in the future which format will I want when I get a new Apple computer (distant future, I hope!).

Thanks again to all and I'm sorry if these questions were answered elsewhere. I couldn't find them in my search.

"Information is not knowledge,

Knowledge is not wisdom,

Wisdom is not truth,

Truth is not beauty,

Beauty is not love,

Love is not music and

Music is the best" -Frank Zappa

butsexisbetter!

Here's a few answers to your questions whilst you're waiting for someone sensible to show up!

1. I'd go straight for Top Cat - "Let's live live live"!

2. You should find a small nozzle on the left hand side, attach the steam pipe to this.

3. You can't have any more memory - you get only that with which you were born - sorry!

4. Perhaps you need better optical outputs - have you tried reading glasses?