IGNORED

iTunes/Windows/Virtual Audio Cable

JAsnis

I'm new to computer audio, and have spend the past few weeks reading through the forum. I'm hoping to buy a computer (perhaps CAPS) that will function as the server for my system ... but have run into a roadblock with software. It seems like the clear Computer Audiophile consensus is that iTunes on Windows is a sub-optimal playback system. But for the moment I'm stubbornly sticking with the iTunes/Windows concept. One potential solution I found was using Virtual Audio Cable to route sound from iTunes to the USB DAC -- thus bypassing the kmixer as a source of sound degredation. While the machine still might not be up to Mac/iTunes/Amarra/etc standards, it seems like at least a major issue would be solved (kmixer)

I just wanted to run this idea by the CA forum though, because most of the posts I found were from 2-3 years ago. And a few people even suggested that Virtual Audio Cable doesn't truly bypass the kmixer. Is there a definitive answer on this? Is iTunes -> VAC -> USB DAC indeed bit perfect? There were also a few comments referring to the stability/instability of the program -- does anyone know if the program would be reliable enough for a dedicated 24/7 music server.

Looking forward to getting started with computer audio, thank you for any help!

Following up ... after doing more reading ... my impression is that when iTunes/Quicktime is set to Windows Audio Session (i.e. Wasapi), as long as no other sounds are playing via Windows, the kmixer doesn't alter/resample the feed from iTunes? Thus what reaches the USB DAC would indeed be bit perfect?

If I were using a dedicated server, Windows sounds would be kept to a minimum/non-existent. Granted, the setup would still lack audiophile features such as memory playback, etc etc -- but at least iTunes/Windows wouldn't be degrading the sound before it reached the rest of my system. Would any of the experts here be able to weigh in on either post?? Thanks!