IGNORED

New build

I know I'll get lots of suggestions so here goes.

I have no problems so far playing 16/44.1 files using iTunes from my outboard HD through my Vista (32bit) PC with a Xonar sound card to my BDA-1 via Toslink to my hifi. I have no back up yet but this seems simple enough from reading posts in this forum. What I really want to do is have a system that will play files of every level of resolution without my intervention every time different res files are played. I am willing to start from scratch to achieve this if I have to. I am not wealthy but I can see my way to a Lynx card (sound quality is extremely important) and already own the hifi and a very good DAC. So what I need to know is what would be the best hardware platform i.e. PC or Mac and what player would be best. I have no experience with Macs but am open minded. Perhaps a couple of scenarios would help like a no holds barred solution and a more cost effective option. Any hardware purchased for this would likely be dedicated with no other function than to play music. I do have a wifi network with the previously mentioned PC, another running XP sp3 (AMD Athlon 1800+ I think) and an Aspire laptop. A display at my listening seat would be great. Maybe a laptop or iPod touch or touchscreen display or whatever. I`ve kind of been waiting to see if this is going to come up in the Academy but wouldn`t mind getting started soon if I can get a clear direction. I am NOT very computer literate but can ask frends in IT at work for help sometimes and there is a geek next door!

Thanks

Tom

tomE[br]Bryston BDP-1, Bryston BDA-1, Oppo BDP-95, Rogue Audio Sphinx, Montor Audio Silver RX8s. [br]Analog: LP12, Alphason HR100S, Benz Micro LO04 and Rogue audio Triton phono pre

Tom,

I believe J River Media Centre now includes auto sample rate recognition.