IGNORED

Can't get itunes to rip at 24 bit

Bobby

I am just getting started ripping my CD collection on a Mac mini running Mac w/ OS X 10.5.6 with iTunes 8.0.2. I have configured the Audio MIDI Setup for 96000.0 Hz and 2ch-24bit. I set the import setting in iTunes to rip AIFF files with error correction and auto Sample Rate, auto Sample Size and auto Channels. When I rip CDs, I get a Sample Size of 16 bit. Shouldn't this be 24 bit? Am I doing something wrong?

I'm new to lossless ripping. I've never used anything but MP3s and an ipod.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Bobby

Hi Bobby - Good question, you're not the first person here to ask this. Unfortunately all CDs are 16 bit and ripping them in iTunes will be 16 bit. It is possible to convert 16 bit to 24 bit but in my opinion that is fruitless. Some people here have done it though. Also the Audio Midi Settings are for playback only and will not effect your ripping at all. If you download some 24/96 content from HDtracks or iTrax you will be able to play it back at full 24/96 resolution from a Mac. Of course you'll want a DAC that can accept 24/96 but that may be another story. Let me know if this clears anything up for you or you want to continue the discussion.

Founder of Audiophile Style | My Audio Systems AudiophileStyleStickerWhite2.0.png AudiophileStyleStickerWhite7.1.4.png

Chris,

Thank you for your quick response and for clearing this up for me; and thank you for such an outstanding resource! You've done a great job with this site.

I recently bought a Benchmark DAC1 Pre to use with my Mac Mini. I plan to use it as a DAC and a headphone amp. Is there anything else I should be doing to optimize the quality of the music? I'm planning to try music from HDtracks and iTrax as soon as I get the basics figured out.

Thanks again!

Bobby