IGNORED

New setup

JFraser

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum, but am interested in getting high quality audio for my music coming out of a computer based setup. I'm only 21 years old, therefore have got plenty to learn, so any help is appreciated. Also, I am a student, so my budget is fairly low.

I'm in the process of re-ripping all my CDs into ALAC format (they were previously mp3), however, as these files are obviously much bigger I need more HDD space. I'm thinking about buying a 2tb external HDD; do you have any suggestions? Is it usually fine to just go with a standard WD or Seagate external HDD? I have a Dell Inspiron 1545 laptop, which has limited outputs (3x USB 2.0 ports, and a 34mm express port).

Alternatively, I have an old desktop which I don't use anymore, and it has a Soundblaster x-fi xtreme music soundcard in it, which has S/PDIF output. Should I maybe buy a new internal HDD for that desktop (because at the moment it only has 300gb internal), and use the desktop instead? OR should I just buy a DAC and connect that to the laptop?

To add further complication, I am also a DJ, and I like to sometimes play my music through my decks (Pioneer) which connect to my laptop via a network cable, and they read the files off my HDD.

I guess what i'm basically asking at the moment, is what storage medium to go for, and whether to use my laptop or my desktop.

Many thanks for your responses in advance.

First things first. I use a basic WD external 1TB hard drive to store my music. For me it works just fine. Some may say to use a different bus (e.g. FireWire) than your audio output but not sure how important that is at this stage of the game.