IGNORED

Will a DAC enhance my iTunes MP3 sound quality?

Computer audio noob here. Ripped 2,500 CDs to MP3 8 years ago (before I understood anything about SQ), then dumped the shiny discs to save the space.

Recently decided to upgrade home A/V system. New speakers (Klipsch RF-7 II fronts), new sub (JL Audio Fathom f110), new amp (Outlaw 7700), new pre-pro (Integra DHC-80.2), new player (OPPO BDP-93). Added second-gen AppleTV.

Began rebuilding CD collection with purchase of favorite 200 CDs. Ripped them to AIFF using iTunes on my MacBook Pro. Then found HDTRacks.com and purchased a dozen CDs in 24/96. They downloaded as FLAC and sit in a separate library; I also transcoded them to AIFF so I could play them in iTunes off the ATV. (I know the iTunes/ATV combo doesn't support 24/96 playback, which is why I keep the high-rez files in a separate library -- when I actually want to sit and listen, I access them using Twonky via either the OPPO network streaming function or the 80.2 streaming function.)

So, there are three different libraries, all three of which sit on a 3TB WD external drive that's connected to the MacBook Pro via FireWire 800.

Connections: The OPPO and ATV are connected via HDMI to the 80.2. The MacBook Pro (and, therefore, its attached WD 3 TB external drive) are connected via Ethernet to the network router, as are both the 80.2 and the OPPO.

To play either the MP3 library or the AIFF library on the external hard drive, I use the ATV. The GUI is far better than Twonky's, and I also find gapless playback far easier to achieve (maybe there's a work-around for this I haven't figured out in Twonky?).

And there's the question for the forum: If I were to add a DAC (say, the soon-to-hit-the-market Peachtree DAC'iT) to the signal path, so the signal went from the WD drive to the ATV via network, then from ATV to DAC via optical, then from the DAC to the 80.2 via analog, would I hear a noticeable difference in SQ when playing the old MP3 files?