IGNORED

Squeezebox vs. USB

I am a newbie, about to make my first foray into computer audio. One of the first decisons I am facing is whether to use a Squeezebox with my existing DAC (a Reimyo), or get an Asynchronous USB DAC.

From what I can glean, Sqeezebox provides two main advantages: Easy to use interface, and the ability to keep the computer out of the music room (thus avoiding issue about noice, etc.)

What I am unclear about it whether this would be sonically compromised compared to USB DACs, in particular those that are asynchronous. Any opinions on this would be most welcomed.

A related question is whether a device such as the M2Tech Evo, in conjunction with my Reimyo, would bring the advantages of an asynchronous DAC.

I have been around long enough to know that few things in audio are black and white, and that how a device is implementated is as important a its general architecture. That said, if there are any generally accepted views, please share them.

Thanks in advance.

Larry

Larry: I don't think you can go wrong with a Squeezebox Touch. Not only do you have the ability to stream music files in wired or wireless mode but listen to many internet stations free. The Touch will do 24/96 files as well. If you get a good quality digital cable ( I use a Bolder cable ) and connect the Touch to your DAC you will have a very good quality setup. I have an Anedio DAC which has a USB input as well as the traditional inputs and uses the a ESS Sabre chip. I've listened most variations of the inputs ( except USB to SPDIF via a converter ) and I cannot tell any real differences. The Anedio site ( www.anedio.com ) has a section about using the Touch which you might find interesting. I've been using Squeezebox players since model 2 and am a real fan.

Guy

Thanks Guy.

Indeed, you are one of many who seem delighted with the Touch; it is obviously an extraordinary product, especially given its price.