IGNORED

critique my music server build? + help choosing NIC

dusk

I am attempting to build my first music server, and I would like some help making sure I'm on the right track.

I'm a bit of a newb, and while I get more into the digital audio realm, I want to establish a baseline and then can add components to the system and see how they improve things.  This is why I'm going to start by building a hybrid gaming/music server (roon core + hqplayer upsampling).  I was already planning on building a gaming PC, and it will be far cheaper to add the components I need now instead of building a separate box while I learn things.  

my chain so far is PC > network switch > Holo Red > Holo May KTE

thinking about these parts. critique welcome!

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/sBYw6D

also, I need a nice network card if anyone has recommendations I can look into. I know about the two JCATs, Solarflare SFN8522 or X2522, and AfterDark (which is interesting because it takes an external clock), but honestly don't know where to start.

later I can add additional components like dedicated roon core, reclockers/world clocks, audiophile switches, linear PSU's, etc and see how it affects my system.

Thanks!

main Beefy Gaming PC > Roon > HQPlayer DSD512 ASDM7EC-super 512+fs sinc-long > Holo Red > Holo May KTE > Pass XP-27 > Pass XA-25 > Zu Audio Definition IV > Zu Audio Event Interconnects

work m1MBP > Roon > HQPlayer 24/192 PCM NS9 poly-sinc-gauss-xla > regular ass USB 3.0 cable > RME Fireface UFX III > Grimm AES cable > Genelec 8361a + w371a

I have, yes! they both look interesting

I might get a few and A/B test them in my system and see which one I like best.

main Beefy Gaming PC > Roon > HQPlayer DSD512 ASDM7EC-super 512+fs sinc-long > Holo Red > Holo May KTE > Pass XP-27 > Pass XA-25 > Zu Audio Definition IV > Zu Audio Event Interconnects