IGNORED

Complete Newb to this - some advice please

Having been previously sceptical about utilising a computer as a audio media player I have done some research mainly on this site and others and have now started to get some ideas in my mind about how to start. Please excuse my ignorance as I am keen to learn.

My initial thoughts are to build my own media server and I have selected some thoughts on the basic components with which to start before I proceed any further I would welcome any comments from members greater experience than my own.

Motherboard : Asus AT5IONT-I Fanless Dual Core 1.8GHz Atom ION2 Mini-ITX Board with USB 3.0

I intend if possible to use a case with an external power supply

Operating System Windows 7 which flavour is recommended the full professional version or the home version? are there advantages to the 64 bit version also.

I probably will use EAC for ripping and probably Musicmonkey for playing.

Soundcard Asus Xonar Essence STX

Small to medium 40GB SSD to hold Operating System etc

to be augmented at a future date to include a second larger SSD to hold actual current FLAC files for playing.

I presume I could in the first instance use the optical output from the ASUS sound card to connect to my DAC within my Arcam CD Player is this correct?

I will eventually purchase a separate DAC probably a musical fidelity and then connect through to my HiFi amplification in the traditional way.

I have also been considering a Vortebox for ripping CD's etc into .flac files and for archive storage of .flac files

Logitech Squeezebox touch for control

I built the Version 1 CAPS server described on this web site. It works fine and NO NOISE. There is supposed to be updated recommendations coming out re: another CAPS server. Not sure it makes things any better.

A small SSD has been reliable for me. The PC does nothing else but play music and thus space is not an issue.