IGNORED

USB Sampling Rate to DAC

Hi,

I am new to the world of computer audiophile. I have got questions on USB sampling rate.

After reading some of the forum postings, I need some clarifications to wrap it all up...please humour me.

1. USB out - sampling of more than 16-bit/44.1kHz cannot be achieved? Is this true?

2. Is it because Windows and Mac OS X do not support USB Audio Class 2?

3. Unless a proprietary driver is written for the DAC? True?

4. I have a Cambride Audio DACMagic. If the above were all true, can anyone other than CA tell me why its USB connection is restricted to 44.1kHz sampling rate?

5. What happens when I playback a 24-bit/96kHz hi-res audio track? Am I losing a lot of signal/data from this track during playback?

6. My DACMagic takes a maximum incoming sampling rate of 96 kHz. If I go through say a M2TECH hiFace (which could technically achieve 192kHz) on my laptop, I would be able to reach 24-bit/96 kHz?

PC2Tube

USB out can provide at least 24/96. But your DAC has to support this.

Sorry, I'm unsure if higher bit rates are achievable... but I'm sure that others here will know.

2013 MacBook Pro Retina -> {Pure Music | Audirvana} -> {Dragonfly Red v.1} -> AKG K-702 or Sennheiser HD650 headphones.

1) USB will support 192kHz 24 Bit

2) I think OS X does support Class 2 and windows can with a third party driver.

3) Proprietry drivers are usually needed for the computer not the PC

4) Most USB connections on DACS where limited to 44.1kHz due to major Audio manufacturers lack of foresight and knowledge about computer audio. High res transfer via USB has been driven by a small group of companies (E.G. Wavelength, M2Tech and Empirical Audio) who are at the bleeding edge of this technology. As things develop Audio manufacturers are now licensing their high res USB outputs from these companies (eg Ayre uses Wavelength technology)

5)Yes if it is played back at lower resolution