IGNORED

help with getting started

hi,

this is my first post as I am a complete novice when it cones to computer audio. I have recently bought an Audiolab 8200 CD/DAC to replace my Cyrus CD7Q CD Player. I wanted to start to move into PC Audio ideally as it is clear that is the way music is heading. I am really impressed with the Audiolab as a CD Player but now want to know what I need to to do to set up a PC based system that will allow me to start to use HD music files too. At the moment I have a stand alone PC but I am also in the market for my first laptop. Currently, I have about 50% of my CD's saved in ITunes as lossless files. But do not have any back up. What should I do now;

1. Do I need a NAS or external hard drive? I know I should really back up my music anyway.

2. Do I connect this wirelessly to a laptop which would be connected via USB to the DAC? My PC/Router will not be in the same room.

3. Should I be bothered about whether I got A PC or Mac? ITunes is easy to use but can it save and play HD files? I think a normal laptop is more likely due to cost but how would I synch something like I Tunes with other software that could play HD files?

As you can see I don't know a great deal about this and as I am looking to buy a laptop anyway any advice now would be really helpful. Another thought is that being able to link the PC/NAS through to a second system would be useful moving forward.

cheers Jamie

Jamie,

Oh boy, you've started a journey now. I'm only about 6 months ahead of you. Luckily many of my decisions were made for me since my wife had a spare MacBook Pro lying around, a $1,000 plus piece of equipment generally regarded as good for computer audio.

One thing I did, which I think was a really good idea, was to start with the CA Ripping guide available here at CA. If you follow the guide to the letter, you'll never regret it, although there are many good ways to rip and store music that might work equally good, IMHO.