IGNORED

Reducing Vocal Loudness using Adobe Audition 3.01

AudioWav

I recently recorded some music at my Church. In order to compensate for the acoustics of the room, I had to have the vocals louder than they should be for listening back to the recording on a CD. Everything else is mixed at acceptable levels, so if I can reduce the loudness of the vocals I'd have a decent little recording. I've got Adobe Audition but I'm still learning how to use the mastering effects. Is anyone familiar with a way to reduce the overall loudness of the vocals using Audition 3.01? Thanks!

AudioWav[br]Custom built AMD Quad Core >> 5 GB RAM >> Creative XFI >> built around Adobe Audition 3.01 and several other software titles for archiving/editing/cleaning/creating music.

Hi AudioWav,

This advice is not specific to the Audition software but I hope it will be helpful.

The only way I can see you evening out the mix is with equalization. True parametric EQ would be my best suggestion. It will allow you to adjust the center frequency to cut as well as the amount of cut and the width or Q of the filter.

It would also be good to run your mix through a real-time analyzer. This could be a hardware device or the analysis can be done with software. TrueRTA would be one software option. I would suggest 1/3 octave analysis (~31 band) or even finer.

The RTA will allow you to see where the voices sit in the mix frequency-wise. You will need to strike a balance because there will be instruments in the same frequency ranges. You may not be able to attain perfection but you should be able to make a noticeable improvement.

You didn't say how the music was recorded. If all of the instruments and voices were miked you could approach things differently the next time and run two different mixes--one for the sanctuary and a second to your recording system. A skilled assistant and a good pair of headphones would be recommended.

Hope this helps,

Ross