IGNORED

Delay when streaming Tidal thru JRiver24

natesmoney

Question

I am having an issue with a delay in sound output at the beginning of a track when I stream Tidal thru JRiver MC24. There is a 10 second delay before the sound will output thru JRiver.  This happens on the first track I play when I open Tidal and when I change tracks.  If I'm streaming from a playlist, allowing Tidal to  shuffle tracks, or listening to an album (and not changing tracks) it does not happen.

I can see that the sound path is getting to JRiver immediately. (using the eq/analyzer)  I'm using a Schiit Audio Bitfrost Dac and a dedicated Dell laptop for streaming.  Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

3 answers to this question

Hi,

I stream Tidal into my Slim Devices Transporter and can do this via the Ickstream OR LMS plugins.

I have been using Tidal for many years but in recent times (say 6 months ago) I started having the same issue as you.

I then signed up to Deezer and through Ickstream, Deezer never had this problem but Tidal did.

Testing via the LMS plugin also showed the startup delay... noting that I also get large gaps at times once an album has started streaming.

My conclusion... its specific to Tidal and there is zip we can do about it.

Peter

On 11/1/2018 at 9:46 PM, natesmoney said:

I am having an issue with a delay in sound output at the beginning of a track when I stream Tidal thru JRiver MC24. There is a 10 second delay before the sound will output thru JRiver.  This happens on the first track I play when I open Tidal and when I change tracks.  If I'm streaming from a playlist, allowing Tidal to  shuffle tracks, or listening to an album (and not changing tracks) it does not happen.

I can see that the sound path is getting to JRiver immediately. (using the eq/analyzer)  I'm using a Schiit Audio Bitfrost Dac and a dedicated Dell laptop for streaming.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.