IGNORED

Music from PC/Server via DAC doesn't sound as good as from CD Player

Im new to Computer Audiophile and starting to realise that replacing my CD player with a PC & server with same / or improved audio sound quality isn't as straight forward as I thought:-

Existing set up:

Cyrus DAD3Q CD Player via Audioquest Quarts x3 hyperlitz analog inteconnecting into Cyrus 3i Sterio Amp

(additional info - not really relevant to this problem: The 3i amp has a seperate Cyrus PSX-R power supply. The sterio speakers are Monitor Audio 703PMCs bi-wired from the amp via Audioquest Indigo + (HF) and Audioquest Type 6 (LF) Speaker Cables.

Replacement Set Up:-

Tranquil PC RS3 media server via Sky Router Ethernet connections (in and out both 1.5m) to the HTPC with Auzen X-Plosion sound card with SPDIF optical Toslink (1.5m) connection to Cyrus DACMaster DAC with (again) Audioquest Quarts x3 hyperlitz analog inteconnecting into Cyrus 3i Sterio amp (this time the Aux input instead of the CD input). The server uses Windows Home Media Server, and I'm using Windows XP and Windows Media Player on the PC. WMAlossles used for music stored on the server

The Problem:

Playing CDs from existing set up sounds sweeter, higher quality than playing music from the PC/server - which sounds grainier - lower quality - also with vocal less forward - much more subdued/thinner. The PC Sound card SPDIF ouput is configured as 2 channel sterio 44.1kHz (although no difference when changed to 48kHz which is within the locking range of the Cyrus DAC) Equalisation is set flat accros the frequency range.

Investigations So Far:

1. PC soundcard config and Windows Media Player

- varied volumn on Windows Media Player itself and seperately on the PC Souncard (using the inferent Xear software) in case I was overdriving the Cyrus DAC input in some way - result no improvement