IGNORED

New audio guy help.

Just bought an DefTech Pro Sub 1000, 300 watts of power this thing shakes my freakin living room anyway my question is should I connect my speakers to the subwoofer it has 2 sets of binding posts and I'm not sure how to do it and if it will make a difference. Any professional help will do I'm still learning I have an Onkyo 8140 only a couple of months old.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Computer Audiophile mobile app

should I connect my speakers to the subwoofer it has 2 sets of binding post

There is no "should" about it: there are two ways do integrate a sub into your system and you might want to try both and decide which sounds best.

The way you are doing it now -- using the "Sub Out" on the back on the Onkyo -- allows your main speakers to run "full-range" while also sending low frequencies to the sub. If you use the speaker terminals on the back of the sub then the sub is controlling how much low frequency gets sent out to the main speakers via the "Variable Low Pass Crossover" control. In some cases, letting the sub exclusively handle the lowest frequencies results in a cleaner, more accurate sound.

I understand it can be a hassle to run another set of speaker cables over to the sub and rearrange your main speaker cables; if you're happy with the sound the way it is, then leave it alone and enjoy!

17_2_large.jpg

More information starts on p.4 of the manual:

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/assets.soundunited.com/definitive/product_documents_legacy/ProSub800_1000_Manual_20309_read.pdf?mtime=20161003165515

By the way it sounds great sub might be a bit big for the receiver but still sounds great it's actually apartment shaking.