IGNORED

How to use my macbook pro with my Rega system

I have the following

macbook pro 13"

Rega Brio Amp

Rega Planet Cd Player

Rega Jura Speakers

Instead of constantly burning different cds, I was contemplating hooking my macbook up to the amp somehow.

I'm not that technically inclined and don't want to spend a fortune but from reading different posts it seems I have a few options.

1. get a cable (stereo jack -> rca) and hook the MBP directly to my Amp. Cheap option & would probably sound crap

2. Put a DAC in between and connect the MPB to it via usb/firewire or optical. Then connect that to the amp with RCA? (The brio I have doesnt have optical)

Perhaps I could sell the cd player and amp and get something more integrated? like a DAC & Amp in one ?

Forgive my ignorance :)

The Brio is a fine little amp. If you fundamentally like the sound of your system (I've never heard those Rega speakers) then a very practical solution is your #2. You have many choices for price-appropriate DACs to complement this system. You can get very good sound from the MBP for under $500. I'll let others suggest DAC brands, but would throw the Cambridge Dacmagic into the ring among others. I'm using a Keces USB DAC myself with very solid results.

Your third option would be quite expensive, and I suspect would also limit your choices - off the top of my head I can only think of one of the Cyrus amps, the Naim Supernait, the TACT amps (?). I suppose there's also the various surround sound receivers with ten million (no exaggeration!) connections round the back, but I haven't read anyone making massive claims for their dac qualities. Quite possibly you'd end up swapping your entire system if you go this route, because you'd likely want speakers that were well matched to your new amp.