IGNORED

Audio Gurus - Need Help and Advice! - Speaker and sound card issues

Hi Guys.

I am new to computer audio but consider myself an "audiophile" with more traditional HT and stereo systems.

Here's my system:

Adam A7X speakers

Rythmik Subwoofer

Soundblaster ZxR sound card

Windows 8.1

Intel based system

Issue #1

I currently have the speakers hooked up using the left and right RCA outs from the sound card (using an RCA cable, obviously). The problem I am having is I am getting a lot of cracking and popping on anything that is played through the speakers. After hours of troubleshooting I’ve ruled out the speakers themselves, the sound card, and the RCA cables. Here’s the strange thing. If I move the cables, even in inch, in certain spots the hiss, crack, and popping will disappear. Even stranger, if I don’t plug in the RCA cables all the way flush with the speaker the sounds stop as well. For some reason with the RCA plug right up against the speakers it causes a problem. If I slightly pull the RCA plug out, it stops.

I’ve tried 5 different sets of RCA (all well shielded), no luck. I tried using the internal sound card with an RCA cable adapter, no luck. I’ve tried using other computer speakers and the problem goes away. Also, if I hook up the Adam speakers in my HT they work fine. So obviously there is some issue with my computer, soundcard, cables, and speakers being used together.

Can anyone think of something I can try? I’m stumped! I just can’t figure out how to fix the issue short of buying new speakers which I don’t want to do. Maybe it’s some kind of ground loop issue?

Issue #2

Is it normal to have some hiss coming from the speakers when nothing is playing? The hiss is not super loud or anything but I’m sensitive to the sound. I’m just wondering if its normal to hear hiss coming from the speakers when they are turned up half way? Since they are on my computer desk I am only 3-4 feet back.

Issue #3