IGNORED

Using Wadia CDP inputs & Wadia "U" upgrade

Hy folks,

I'm a CA newbie, just getting into things on this site. Great stuff out here. Need WAY more time to read it all.. Anyway, congrads on this site!

Brainstorming an easy entry into the CA world I want to use my Wadia850i digital inputs & DAC to get started and not suffer from degrading sound (compared to Wadia on-board drive) in the process. Any thoughts & experiences (specifically of Wadia owners?) are welcomed. (Squeezebox, Sonos, PC, Mac, into Wadia, whatever...). I have no clue as to Wadia specifics (buffering, re-clocking or other jitter mitigation, word-length limitations, etc..). I bet there must be a CA devotee & Wadia user out there some place...

Other thing (topic subject): There is some minor info on the web of Wadia about to issue a USB to SPDIF/optical/other(?) digital conversion device called the "U" upgrade, specifically designed to solve part of my problem, allowing me to connect anything with USB out (seems like we have a choice there) to my Wadia CD player digital inputs. Does anyone have more info on that?

Thanks & keep up the good work!

Hans

Bits to analog: Server [i9-10850k; Win10Pro, Roon Core + HQPlayer4 >all DSD256x] -> mRendu -> Regen -> Lampi GG

Analog to sound: ASR Emitter II Exclusive, Battery -> Gryphon Mojo S + 2 x REL G2

Details: Audio System

Hello Hans,

I once was a Wadia owner: Wadia 8 w/X32 then Wadia 2000 upgraded to 27 status always using AT&T I/O w/Audioquest Pro2.

Lovely sound w/Jadis and Genesis gear. Avoided using their digital volume control, as the DAC was 'losing bits'. Better sound with a real pre-amp.

I've found the 581 manual (if you haven't already got it!): http://www.drhifi.net.au/New%20Equipment/Wadia/Wadia%20581i%20CD%20Player/Wadia%20581se_781i%20CD%20Player%20Manual%20Web.pdf

Here are all the upgrades available on the Wadia site: http://wadia.com/products/upgrades/

As for the 'U upgrade': 'Content to come.'