IGNORED

Mac Mini

Spirit

I would like to shop around for a used Mac Mini to be used exclusively for Computer Audio. I am completely new to Mac, and would like some direction about which model and specs to look for. I want to make sure that whatever Mini model I buy will not be missing something that I will regret later. thanks

New Minis are surely not too far away (though many have been saying this for months). Depending on how soon you want one (although they're pretty cheap anyway) it could be worth waiting a while.

Also depends if you will be using your mini exclusively for music, or if you will have a few other applications. I know you mentioned you plan to use it for music only, but it's sort of hard to know with this type of device until you have one (or so I've found) because they have so many damn good uses!

I would advise to go for the 1.8Ghz (think it's the lower end current model) with some extra ram (not from apple - look for cheaper alternatives like crucial). Seems to handle most of what I throw at it pretty well (mine has 2Gb RAM).

I'm not sure the G4 Mini has optical out, which is a pity as a late model would work well otherwise (I use a G4 Powerbook). When Apple introduces new models, it's always a good time to pick up a previous generation model cheap from one of their dealers. (Sorry, resellers - why does the computer industry have 'resellers' instead of dealers?)

I've got an Intel Mini with a 320 Gig HD and 2 Gig of Ram, it may only be a 1.6 Gig dual core machine, but it runs as fast as my later Macbook Pro and isn't noticeably slower than my 2.4Gig iMac, so I'd recommend it to anyone.

It doesn't like EyeTV and it's the least robust for streaming video, but I have it connected to my 32" LCD Panasonic and operate it with a wireless mouse and keyboard or iPod Touch. I love it, the picture is superb too.

Ash