IGNORED

external DAC / receiver DAC interaction

I am just getting started in the realm of music servers. I would like to piece into this to ensure I understand what I am doing before spending a lot of money on equipment that might not be needed. My current equipment includes the following:

Yamaha RXA-2000 receiver that I use as both an AV receiver for movies and a prepamp for music

B&K Reference 2220 2 channel 220w ampliphier connected as a per-out from the peramp section of the Yamaha

Sony 400 disk CD changer

B&W 804 tower speakers

dvd, plasma monitor, center channel, rear channel speakers, round everything out but are not relevant to this discussion

I want to move away from the cd changer and install a music server. However, I am confused on what value an external DAC will add. My receiver only allows input through HDMI (A/V), digital coax, optical, and rca. It has a pretty decent DAC on board. It is a Burr-Brown 192khz/24-bit DAC for each channel. My question is reagrding how the signal get processed. If I install an external DAC won't my receiver just process the incoming signal again through the internal DAC? If so, what have I gained by getting an external DAC?

Thanks for your help

Randy

You already have a pretty good dac onboard; try it out and see what you think. If you add an external dac, you could set up the AV receiver to do an analog bypass so it does not process the signal. I do that with my Squeezebox Touch and it works very well. If you want to tweak the digital signal, the musical fidelity v-link is an inexpensive add on that should improve the quality by reducing jitter, http://www.amazon.com/Musical-Fidelity-V-LINK-SPDIF-Converter/dp/B004PH03GU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1311016321&sr=8-1.

Macmini (as server)-> AE Express/SB Touch-> Dacmagic plus -> Outlaw RR2150 -> PSB Image T6 (dedicated 2 channel audio system)

Macmini (via toslink)-> NAD T747 -> PSB Imagine B/SVS SB2000 subwoofer (home theater)