IGNORED

New iMac 27

Hello,

First post. I am a noob when it comes to Computer Audiophile.

Anyhow, i just picked up an iMac 27. I would like to add an audio rig to it.

Need help guiding me to a decent setup.

I have a very nice audio stereo/vinyl/sacd/cd setup already..this is where i enjoy my music mostly.

The iMac will be in a different room, where i am planning to move my headphones rig to.

Budget: $1000, the less the better...hihi.

What i've owned already:

iMac 27

Yamamoto HA-2

6 different cans (Darth Beyer V3, ATH W1000, ATH W5000, Denon D7000, AKG K701, Sony SA5000)

Couple of unused CD sources: Sony SCD-777es, Opera Consonance Droplet 5.0

4 B&W monitors..for listening (cant remember the models, somewhere up in my attic..lol)

I would like to use the yammy as my headphone amp, use the B&Ws as speakers, and add a cd source (optional).

Can this be achieved to the iMac?

What would i need to pickup?

Thanks guys,

Happy Listening.

To start, rip all your CDs in a lossless format. For a $1k, I'd get a Squeezebox Touch to stream that music to your stereo rig (it's in another room, right?) and then get a good headphone amp/dac combo for your computer room so you can enjoy your cans. The Touch runs $300; that leaves $700 for your headphone amp/dac combo. I like the audio gd fun, http://www.pacificvalve.us/AudiogdFUN.html. Plus it's a good preamp if you later decide to add some powered speakers. That leaves you well under budget so you can buy some great new music to enjoy with your new set-up.

Edit: I missed the Yamamoto HA-2 on my first read through. You have a headphone amp so just get a dac to run from your computer to the amp. You could do worse than the HRT music streamer II at $150; the SQ is very good. I'm sure others will chime in with different dacs that they like. But the SB Touch for your main stereo rig and the HRT musicstreamer for your computer will set you back around $450, leaving plenty of money left over for new music . . .