IGNORED

New Bie - Wanna build a music server

A good starting point is Chris' C.A.P.S. article. Can be adapted to your needs: cheaper case; drop the Lynx card is using USB DAC; etc.

Chris says he's working on a C.A.P.S. v2.

Eloise

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.

Option 2 is to get a 2010 Mac Mini and go that route with player software such as Pure Music or Amarra.

Do you have a budget in mind and do you already have a DAC?

Rig 1: CM9s2, CM8s2, CMC, VTF-15H, Emotiva XMC-1, XPA-5, Aries Deluxe via S/PDIF

Rig 2: Sennheiser HD650, Woo WA-2, PS Audio Power Plant Premier, Sony HAP-Z1ES

I'm also a music server DIY noob, although I've done a ton of research (all theory no practice).

So, I'm going to defer to the experts.

I've ordered the OrigenAE M10 case, which should be arriving shortly. I'm absolutely intent on using this case, as its aesthetic appeal is very high-end.

I am, however, flexible on the MoBo and sound card (as flexible as my pocketbook allows). I'm not concerned about video content capabilities, just sound.

Right now I'm looking at an ASUS At3ION-I MoBo (I want to use the M10's display and external PSU, and I believe this MoBo fits the bill).

The problem arises once the sound card is thrown into the mix. Chris's essay on the CAPS has convinced me that a sound card is essential, so I won't be relying on the Mobo's S/Pdif.

So, Chris has now blessed two affordable ASUS sound cards (good job!). Imagine my excitement.

However, the AT3ION has a PCIe slot, so the ASUS STX card is a good choice.

The rear of M10 has a vertical slot for a PCI expansion. I don't suppose the Asus STX will fit. Okay, enough rambling...