IGNORED

Help: Need a DAC - USB or PCI Express card?

Hi,

I am a bit new to this computer audio thing and I'd like to ask your suggestions/recommendations on some items.

Basically I have a powerful/fast 2009 PC and I want to put a good audio system in it. I will be using either .wav or lossless files to be played by my computer. For speakers I am thinking of getting the Audioengine 2 or 5 (unless you know of a better one in that price range). I am also looking into subs and my brother told me to get the velodyne impact 10 to pair with the audioengines. I'm not into that earth shattering bass. I like the one that blends in musically and can go down.

In this regard, I would like to add a good DAC to make my audio system perform a bit nicer as Ive read that the DAC in all computers suck.

By the way, I am used to listening to sweet and warm music (jazz/pop) on my father's audio system (Conrad Johnson / Jadis / B&W 801) so I would want something to that degree. Of course I know the sound quality of my computer won't go anywhere near it but I'd just like to point out that I'm more into Sound quality rather than gaming/etc. I'm more into sounds that are laid back, sweet, dark and the like. I'm also more into vocals than instruments. Although I love the punch of a soft and low bass.

To summarize:

1) Can you recommend a good DAC for around $200-$250

2) If you can recommend an alternative to the Audioengine with a price range of $200-$300

3) If you can recommend a good subwoofer for $200. I need the subwoofer to be small. (around 10" height). Are the Velodyne Impact10 good for music? My dad uses the B&W 801 and I love its bass.

So far I am looking into:

1) Musical Fidelity V-DAC

2) ASUS Xonar Essence STX soundcards

(If it is between this two, which would you choose?)

3) Nuforce Icon UDAC ? (read mixed reviews on this)

Thanks very much

Hello joms.