IGNORED

Marantz cd5001 plus beresford tc7510 advice

Hello, I'm a newbie to dacs and, on a whim, purchased a used Beresford TC7510.

Although I am fairly happy with marantz, I thought there would be an improvement if used it with a dac. But instead find the sound less appealing, more bright and metallic sounding. I listen mostly to jazz and blues, use tube pre and power amps, and single driver speakers.

With this combination, is a degrade not surprising?

Thanks for any advice,

John

Hi John,

I've used the 7510 on the end of a number of pieces of kit ranging from cheap DVD-players, to good CD players, to computers and it's a great piece of kit, and is hugely tweakable.

I have experienced the same problems as you and my first question is - How are you connecting the Marantz to the 7510? When I started out, I was using an old IXOS optical cable I'd had lying around for some time and I found the sound just as you describe - metallic, harsh and thin, not in the least musically enjoyable. All this was transformed with the aid of one of Stan Beresford's own optical cables. It cost me about half the price of the IXOS but the improvement was incredible - the difference between an enjoyable and a fatiguing sound. There's also a coax digital availble.

If you still find things aren't what you think they should be then it could be that the transport in the Marantz isn't really allowing the 7510 to give of its best. If you have a PC/Mac with an optical output then it's really worth doing the comparison.

The Beresford is capable of some quite amazing sounds - as an example I took mine and my Macbook Pro to a friend's house this weekend to compare with his Naim CDS2. Now I know my 7510 has been 'breathed on' a fair bit (linear power supply, Wolfson DAC chip, op-amps bypassed with audio caps) but the whole thing still cost about 1/10th of what the Naim initially cost and the difference between the two was scarily small.

----[br]Rich[br]

Hi Rich,