IGNORED

NAS Users (QNAP specifically) -- Your Share/Folder Structure/Permissions & Security?

I recently acquired a QNAP TS-451+ NAS. I'm new to the NAS world, but not to PC Audio nor to PC Hardware/Software. I have approximately 40,000 tracks in Folders Named with Artist/Album. Backups are several, both onsite and offsite.

I bought the NAS primarily for audio, but also for video files and to sync home files for 2 users, 4 PC's and handheld devices.

I plan to remove my Mac mini and its firewire external HD and USB connection to my Lampizator DAC and replace it with a microRendu hardwired to the LAN.

My initial plan is to repurpose the Mac mini as a HTPC and use the QNAP simply as a file server. I realize that the QNAP with all of its Apps., and CPU, has the capability of being a HTPC, but because I have the Mac mini and am familar with JRiver/JRemote on the iPad, I figured that since I have no learning curve, I would just stay with what works and that I know.

With that said, i'm trying to learn everything NAS/LAN related and am having a difficult time trying to figure out how best to construct the NAS share/folder structure and permissions. Speaking of permissions and users, they can be set either via the NAS or Windows 8, can't they? If so, if permissions are established in the NAS, is it safe to assume that nothing else specifically needs to be done with Windows?

My question to QNAP users is a suggestion or examples of how you've arranged your folder structure? To keep things simple, I don't plan on using the following apps (well at least not initially):

Music Station

Photo Station

Video Station