IGNORED

Boy do i need your help......

Redhawk

Hello to all, first, I'm new to this but am reading as much as I can to get started.

I currently have a nice 2 channel setup that consistes of both CD and LP playback sources. I'd like to be able to get all/most of my LP's onto a computer/server that I can access from the listening chair via my laptop (not a must, but nice). I'd also like to be able to select 2 or 3 "albums" for play from the server to play thru my current system while I sit and work or listen.

I'm technical, but have no idea how best to do this, what hardware and software i need, or if it's possible. I welcome all suggestions and comments. Am I thinking correctly on this? or is there a better way to do it?

Guess i should add that I'd like to build a computer based system for a reasonable amount of money.

John

How much is reasonable?

First off, take a look at the recommended setups on this site under equipment I believe. Of the top of my head, if you're a mac person, go for the Mac mini with the Apogee duet. The duet does AD and DA, so that will fulfill your requirements for recording those records. For PC, or if you don't like the duet, I would rent a good A/D converter for a month to convert all those LPs unless you plan on recording in the future. A good choice is anything by Lavry or Apogee, or whatever your local pro audio shop recommends. You can also purchase their respective dacs for around $1000.