IGNORED

Pro-ject Box Range?are there similar products (size & quality wise?)

Hello fellow members;

this is a short add on to my my post elsewhere on the forum.

I have decided to go the Passive route...this time around?

I was quite intersted in the Pro-ject Box range of components...which would ultimately be the power source for my Small stand speakers (yet to be chosen also?) the reason is size I thought it would be good in such a small room as mine, to keep things minimalist and small...

also I do not know if a pre/power amp route is the way to go for my 32 bit laptop route even with V-dac?

should I just go for a budget amp(integrated) fed by the V-dac and maybe the V-PSU and I am not sure if the V-Link is appropriate either..so any help advice very much appreciated.

many thanks

reagrds Steve

Hi,

I have some experience with Project Box products. I have owned their DAC Box USB, an analogue tuner plus a couple of phono ones.

My view is that they are well made and good value for money, though in each case it was possible to get noticably better sonics in the next price class. The DAC I owned was not reliable, however, and had to be replaced twice. It also had to be used in a very specifc way in order to avoid losing the USB connnection to the host machine - a problem I never encountered with other USB DACs.

I would not buy their products again, despite the good quality construction and keen pricing. My sonic tastes have moved beyond the sort of quality the company tends to aim at and the experience with the DAC was an unpleasant one.

Hi JonP

I really do appreciate your reply and very interesting description of your experiences with the Pro-Ject gear.

I was only looking as it looked compact,not a good reason to buy Good audio gear and to be honest..I have being putting to much emphasis on space saving because of my intended dual usage of room which as I said is small. 3mtrs x 2mtrs.