Jump to content

Darryl R

  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Country

    United States

Everything posted by Darryl R

  1. Nothing new here, but since you might be wanting a survey, thought I'd chime in. Almost always classical, mostly from Qobuz and Presto, unless price is lower, which I've found to be the case on HighResAudio when available. To a lesser extent eclassical, NativeDSD, and e-onkyo/mora.jp, these last two for Japan-only releases of legacy classics. I also value info about derivation of different formats, and as stated above, some are better than others about providing it. I once questioned HighResAudio about a 24/192 release, and their response was only that "24/96 is good enough." M
  2. Hi Tim, One thing I did in my last build was to switch to a fiber NIC. There's alot of discussion on them here, but since I only needed Ethernet for control and not music I/O, I used an inexpensive NIC and switch+FMC (assume you're planning to put your music on that 1TB Optane). Might free up some funds for a better USB cable?
  3. Well done Anwar! I asked them to do the low profile PCIe slots on the FC10 a few years ago and they said "no". Good for all they're finally doing it. I think this makes Streacom competitve with HDPlex again, though Larry is doing some nice stuff on the new H5 (last ETA mid-Sep), and I prefer his heatpipe assembly (not having seen the new one yet).
  4. Currently enjoying the Grieg/Schumann concerto disc of this release.
  5. I just now realized this is a new release. I have the Brilliant box, and it is my favorite complete cycle. Apart from some recklessly fast tempi in the Waldstein and Appassionata, the entire set is so well played it should've been remastered into 24-bit. EDIT: it's interesting to note what Jed Distler said in comparing the Brilliant and Amadeo releases a few years ago: Beethoven: Sonatas/Gulda - Classics Today. So we should add "... remaster and lose the fake reverb."
  6. Too bad there's no hi-rez of the piano concerti (except I will try the sample of No. 1 from HDTT later).
  7. For recent versions, I think she gives Fröst a run for the money. Both are beautifully played and recorded, but I prefered the pacing of her Rondo. But for the quintet, I like this one:
  8. While I'm at it I'll post this too because I wasn't familiar with the piano quartets and enjoyed them as much as the quintets.
  9. (24/96) Some Amazon reviewers have called the Dvořák Piano Concerto a dud. I don't think so. This fine recording is the strongest evidence I've heard to the contrary (along with the Richter/Kleiber of course ;).
  10. Thanks. These are in my queue. Looking forward to them. I already had the No. 1 release to which you refer and liked it.
  11. I've long been a fan of Yefim Bronfman and his concerti here and in the Arte Nova releases (which some say sound the same despite Sony's ambiguous 24-bit stamp typical of this series). Recently, I've taken to Tetzlaff's violin concerto as well. I haven't listened to the symphonies and overtures in this set.
  12. I didn't study things enough to know exactly why you have the hard drive, but you could get rid of that, esp. with the 1TB NVMe SSD.
  13. Here's one I had my eye on, but now have on hold: アルバン・ベルク四重奏団/ベートーヴェン: 中期弦楽四重奏曲集(第7-9番「ラズモフスキー第1-3番」、第10番「ハープ」、第11番「セリオーソ」)<タワーレコード限定> (tower.jp) I thought some of these Tower exclusives made their way into normal label releases later. Maybe that's the "complicated" part. If anyone knows the inner workings of the Euro-Japanese label relationships, please let us know. I speak mostly with reference to Universal Classics. To be fair, this Warner was terrific, the DSD here better than a later PCM download (#1 only): ジョン・バルビローリ/エルガー: 交響曲第1番、第2番、序曲
  14. Yesterday I praised a new release of Richter's classic Liszt concerti with Kirill Kondrashin and the LSO (1961) from HDTT (https://www.highdeftapetransfers.com/products/liszt-piano-concerto-no-1-and-2-sviatoslav-richer-piano-kiril-kondrashin-lso?_pos=325&_sid=5169a9f9c&_ss=r), contrasting it with the recent DSD release from Tower Japan. I'm starting another thread here so as not to detract from that excellent HDTT offering with my negative thoughts. This was by no means the first dud I'd received recently from the "Tower Records Definition Series." Among others, I thought the new Bö
  15. (24/352) High Def Tape Transfers did a very nice job with this release from their new Redux Series. Richter's Liszt magic shines brighter here than in any of the many prior releases from Philips. And it's in a different league than the more expensive Tower Japan SACD just released last November.
  16. Thumbs up for all things Sylvia McNair!
  17. I typically post things here I really like, or even love, and think others will enjoy too (if they haven't already). With regard to Lazar Berman, I find a few things he did like nobody else. One such track here is the Liszt Rhapsodie Espagnole: PS - another is his Hungarian Rhapsodie No. 3, but I can't find a digital copy of it.
  18. In case you're wondering where the song is, it's "Tiempo de Festival" at 6:40 ;)
  • Create New...