IGNORED

like everyone else, seeking advice.....unlike everyone else, I am a newbie

OK, so I will be honest and tell you that I have just started to get into the world of audiophiles, and at this stage, 80% - or thereabouts - of this website is still over my head. So please be gentle!

Just purchased new computer from Digital Storm - not delivered yet. Sound card will be ASUS Xonar Essence STX Virtual 7.1. Have been looking extensively at speaker reviews, including B&W and Audioengine. I am willing to spend some money to make full use of the card. But life is about tradeoffs and any money I save now will be gold when I eventually buy my new shelf speakers in about 6 months time.

I say this because I have a "friend of a friend" that is selling a DTT2500 Cambridge 5.1 Desktop Theater system for under $100. The little I can find online about that system is pretty positive...but I have no idea whether that is really a good deal or not. I have seen the system, looks to be in pretty good shape. Truthfully I do not even know whether Cambridge quality is average, good, great, or not even as good as Bose? I believe Cambridge is now out of the speaker game, but not sure why.

Additionally, I have other questions about the age of the speaker system and if the sound card and speaker set are a good match? The last question is critical since it seems like the speakers may have been built to use with specific sound cards - the Sound Blaster Live series.

So as I mentioned, the cost savings here could help boost my shelf system or I may even put the extra money toward a component that would take the above setup to the next level. I do not know what that component may though....

Here is a brief spec breakdown on the speakers:

http://www.techspot.com/reviews/hardware/cambridge_dtt2500/dtt2500-2.shtml

Sorry for the long post, and for the newbie greenness, but any help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!