IGNORED

Discussing USB implementations. Why should the quality of the interface and cable matter?

Preface: I am a graduated computer engineer and work in the software business. I am also a relative newbie with respect to the audiophile scene. That being said, my father is an avid audiophile and I have had the pleasure of auditioning many setups with him. Recently, I built him a music server and we've auditioned the Meitner, Invicta, and Weiss DAC202 on his B&W 800 Diamond speakers.

Being a computer engineer, I am relatively well versed in the technical workings and interactions of computer interfaces. That being said, I do not have any professional experience with the USB interface. Most of my hardware engineering experience is limited to FPGA development, microcontroller programming, and communication with relatively simple interfaces such as serial interfaces.

I am not going to discount the possibility that the quality of the USB interface on the PC or that the quality of the USB cable matters. It very well might. I'm here to find out why.

To me, used in the intended asynchronous fashion, USB should be able to deliver perfect 1:1 data that is completely devoid of data degradation or timing issues. Take a USB drive, for example. When you transfer data to and from it, nothing happens to it. Error correction and proper back/forth communication in between the drive and the USB's port controller ensures that the data arrives perfectly. If there are any flaws in the data, they are detected thanks to error correction and promptly fixed. Undetected errors are extremely rare, to the point where I have never encountered a corrupt file sent over USB in my lifetime. They're possible, but the error correction used is quite robust and makes undetected errors extremely unlikely.