IGNORED

External USB Interface

Hello to all,

I am looking for a external USB interface that will provide a asynchronous digital audio stream to my Nuforce Icon HD USB DAC. The Icon HD only has a USB input.

I have looked at the M2TECH hiFace but it's digital output is S/PDIF.

I am a newbie, so any assistance would be appreciated.

Gordon

iMac, Core i5, 16GB RAM, 480Gb SSD., Wadia 121decoding Computer, KRK VXT6 Powered Reference Monitors. KRK10s Powered Sub. AKG Q701 Headphones, Little Dot MK IV SE Headphone Amp/Preamp, Audioquest & Take Five Audio Interconnects, Take Five Audio Powercords, BitPerfect, Pure Music, Max, XLD.

No such thing exists.

If you're using a computer with a PCI slot you may find the SotM USB interface provides some improvement but this isn't a certainty (and doesn't create an asynchronous USB interface).

Eloise

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.

I was afraid that such a device did not exist.

Thanks for your input.

Gordon

iMac, Core i5, 16GB RAM, 480Gb SSD., Wadia 121decoding Computer, KRK VXT6 Powered Reference Monitors. KRK10s Powered Sub. AKG Q701 Headphones, Little Dot MK IV SE Headphone Amp/Preamp, Audioquest & Take Five Audio Interconnects, Take Five Audio Powercords, BitPerfect, Pure Music, Max, XLD.

... I hope so.

Here's what I can tell you about the way your Mac works: Of the two most likely outputs available to you from your Mac, Mini-toslink or USB, USB probably (I say, "probably". YMMV) will offer better results, for two or three reasons.