IGNORED

Very, very, basic question

LBob

I am interested in setting up a music server using a Mac Air book as the computer. I would like to keep the cost under $3,500 if possible. The simpler and more user friendly the better. I am not technically inclined nor do I wish to be. I just want easy access to my CD collection via something like ITunes. Most of my music is classical (500 or so CDs) plus another 100 miscellaneous.

I have (as suggested) read the FAQs; however, I have some very basic questions. I would appreciate any help/suggestions. So here goes:

1) Exactly what hardware would I need to purchase and how would it be configured?

2) In practice, how reliable are computer audio systems. I just read a horror story posted by one member whose system kept crashing for weeks.

3) Are there any products that really stand out in terms of performance or reliability?

2012 MacMini 8G ram -> Audirvana + 3.0 -> Mcintosh MHA 100> Nordost > Audeze LCD X

1. Minimally, you need your computer and some speakers. But I suspect the answer you are after is something like this: You need (or at least want) an external (probably USB) DAC (digital analog converter), a volume control (pre-amp or passive buffer), and an amplifier, and some speakers. It is possible to get units (like mine) that integrate the DAC, pre-amp, amp in one box. Then you need to pick some speakers. Ideally, you don't want them to be the limiting factor. I would put 1/2 to 2/3 of your budget into speakers.

To rip the CDs, you need a CD drive (apple sells one that pairs with the air, or use a different computer), and to store the music, you will need an external drive. You want to rip lossless files, so they will take up more space.

2. Very. The air has an internal SSD, which means the most likely part to fail (a conventional HD) shouldn't fail.

3. I like the Peachtree Audio products. There are numerous other alternatives.